Apply for a Reciprocal Exchange or LINC Grant! 

We are pleased to offer two exciting opportunities for Mandela Washington Fellowship Alumni!

Reciprocal Exchange

2021 Reciprocal Exchange Participant Jeffrey Kappen delivers a workshop in Cote d’Ivoire during his project with 2019 Fellowship Alumnus Roland N’Dekploman.

The Reciprocal Exchange component of the Mandela Washington Fellowship provides funds for U.S. professionals to travel to sub-Saharan African countries or implement hybrid projects to continue collaborative work with Mandela Washington Fellowship Alumni.  U.S. professionals may include those met during the Mandela Washington Fellowship through site visits, networking, the Summit, Professional Development Experiences (PDEs), or other activities.  Fellowship Alumni from all cohorts are eligible to apply.  Check out our website for more information about eligibility and the Reciprocal Exchange application.  If you have any questions, please email us at

Apply now for a Reciprocal Exchange

LINC Grants

2017 Fellowship Alumna Ifeoma Blessing Umeh trains Nigerian healthcare workers as part of her 2021 LINC Grant collaboration.  Her LINC Grant partner, 2017 Fellowship Alumnus Barrack Ogwell, co-led the training remotely from Kenya.

Leveraging Innovations in New Communities (LINC) Grants provide Fellowship Alumni with funding for professional collaboration with others in the Alumni Network.  Funds will allow Alumni across cohort years, sectors, and regions to travel to each other’s organizations or communities or collaborate in a hybrid format to learn from each other’s best practices and expertise.  Check out our website for more information about eligibility and the LINC Grant. If you have any questions about LINC Grants, please email us at

Apply for a LINC Grant

Applications for both opportunities are due March 8, 2024!  

Please note that the Reciprocal Exchange component and LINC Grants are annual programs open to all Mandela Washington Fellowship Alumni.  Alumni may apply for both opportunities but will only be awarded one per calendar year.